

Top EU leaders mark the International Day Against Homophobia

Strasbourg, 17 May 2010 — Today, the International Day Against Homophobia, leaders from the European Council, the European Parliament and the European Commission have issued strong messages condemning homophobia. It is the first time that 3 top-level EU leaders address homophobia jointly and unequivocally.

Herman van Rompuy, President of the European Council, the EU institution representing 27 national governments, issued a written statement on the International Day Against Homophobia, affirming the EU's commitment to refuse discrimination on any grounds, and affirming that "discrimination on the basis of gender and sexual orientation has ceased to constitute a political cleavage, and is enshrined in the EU's founding act and statement of values."

Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament, issued a video message reaffirming the commitment of the European Parliament to combat any form of discrimination, including homophobia. The President of the European Parliament declared: "Homophobia is a clear breach of human dignity that questions fundamental rights; and thus, it must be strongly condemned."

Viviane Reding, Vice-president of the European Commission and Commissioner for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship, also issued a statement condemning homophobia as "a blatant violation of human dignity", "incompatible with the principles on which the EU is founded".

Co-presidents of the European Parliament's Intergroup on LGBT Rights Ulrike Lunacek and Michael Cashman welcomed the initiative, and congratulated all 3 EU leaders on their renewed commitments.

They declared: "We are indeed very pleased that the highest authorities of the 3 core EU institutions have come out against homophobia today. Their statements are exemplary, and clearly show one thing: in 2010 in the European Union, the fundamental rights of everyone, including lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, have ceased to divide mainstream political parties and can be considered an integral part of the European Union's foundations recognised across the mainstream political spectrum."

"We unreservedly congratulate President Herman van Rompuy, President Jerzy Buzek and Vice-president Viviane Reding."

Read and watch the full statements online: www.lgbt-ep.eu

ENDS

The European Parliament's Intergroup on LGBT Rights:

Co -Presidents:	Michael Cashman MEP (GB-S&D) · Ulrike Lunacek MEP (AT-Greens)
Vice-Presidents:	Sophie In't Veld MEP (NL-ALDE) · Raül Romeva i Rueda MEP (ES-Greens)
	Sirpa Pietikäinen MEP (FI-EPP) · Rui Tavares MEP (PT-GUE)
Press contact:	Bruno Selun, Secretary · bruno.selun@europarl.europa.eu · +32 (0) 228 37 759
Web:	www.lgbt-ep.eu · http://twitter.com/LGBTintergroup