

PRESS RELEASE

Strasbourg, 15 February 2011

## MEPs launch bipartisan petition to enforce better standards for prisons and detainees' rights across the EU

MEPs from across the political board will be launching an EU-wide campaign asking the European Commission to ensure fundamental rights of detainees are respected in all Member States and to set up minimum common standards of detention in the EU. The initiative comes in view of the European Commission's plans to present a Green Paper on detention, in spring 2011.

In a press conference, taking place on Wednesday 16th February, 10:30 am, in the European Parliament in Strasbourg, MEPs **Stavros LAMBRINIDIS** (S&D, Greece), **Françoise CASTEX** (S&D, France), **Jan Phillip ALBRECHT** (Greens, Germany), **Carlos COELHO** (EPP, Portugal) and **Diana WALLIS** (ALDE, UK) will present Written Declaration 0006/2011 on infringements of the fundamental rights of detainees in the European Union.

The Written Declaration calls on:

- The European Commission to set up minimum common standards of detention in all Member states;

-The Member States to put in place effective and independent national mechanisms of control of prisons and detentions centres, as foreseen by the Optional Protocol of the Convention against torture (OPCAT) of 18 December 2002;

- The Member States to allow European parliamentarians to have access to prisons and detention centres without hindrance.

- The European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights to act as a watchdog on possible infringements of the fundamental rights of detainees on a European level.

Written Declaration 0006/2011 has to be signed by 369 Members of the European Parliament until the 16th of May, 2011, in order to be adopted as an official position of the House.

You can follow the press conference live on the European Parliament website, at this link: <u>http://www.europarl.europa.eu/wps-europarl-internet/frd/live/live-video?eventId=20110216-1030-SPECIAL-UNKN&language=en</u>

## Contact details:

<u>VP Stavros Lambrinidis</u>: Sofia ASTERIADI +32 498 98 13 71 e-mail <u>sofia.asteriadi@europarl.europa.eu</u> and <u>stavros.lambrinidis-office@europarl.europa.eu</u> <u>http://www.lambrinidis.gr</u>

**Françoise Castex:** Nadia PELLEFIGUE +33 6 85 49 49 82 e-mail <u>françoise.castex@europarl.europa.eu</u> http://www.françoisecastex.org/

<u>**Carlos Coelho**</u>: Sandra NUNES +32 2 28 47 551 e-mail <u>sandra.nunes@europarl.europa.eu</u> <u>http://www.carloscoelho.eu</u>

Jan Philipp Albrecht: +49 175 16 56 698 e-mail jan.albrecht@europarl.europa.eu http://www.janalbrecht.eu

VP Diana Wallis: Stewart ARNOLD +32 228 47201 email: diana.wallis@europarl.europa.eu