

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 22 September 2011 14503/11 PRESSE 322

## Arrangement on the participation of the EFTA countries<sup>1</sup> in the Commission's Schengen committees

An arrangement was signed today between the European Union and the EFTA countries on their participation in the work of the committees which assist the European Commission in the exercise of its executive powers as regards the implementation, application and development of the Schengen acquis.

The arrangement provides that the EFTA countries will be associated as observers in the work of current and future committees assisting the Commission in Schengen matters; it will replace the various agreements in the form of exchanges of letters which constituted the basis for cooperation in the past.

The representatives of the associated countries may comment on proposed measures on the development of the Schengen acquis or raise any problems encountered in applying these measures; however, they will not take part in the voting of these committees, participating thus in the decision-shaping but not in the decision-making regarding Schengen legislation.

The arrangement also provides for a financial contribution from the associated countries to the administrative expenses resulting from their participation in the Schengen committees.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> EFTA countries: Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.



PRES

1